Any advice please - new to GPU farms

Been watching Drew Vosk videos for many years (don’t hold it against me, lol).

Very new to mining. A friend has asked for me to help out with a GPU mining farm. With over 500 x GTX 1050 Ti cards. From what I can see these are ‘older’ (2016) cards and hence profitability per power consumption etc.

I have extensive IT knowledge from building supporting hardware to software OS. Also been involved in the crypto space since 2017. Explored the costs of mining personally but was dissuaded by the ROI.

Can you please assist with the following. Just asking for some insight to real world experience.

1. What software would you recommend for example within Windows 10 or something dedicated like HiveOS (USB or SSD).
  2. Also which calculators or websites I could check for profitability and coins recommended to farm based on this hardware.
  3. I have gone to 2cryptocalc (not a plug) to check returns. I am shocked at the daily return for 100x 1050Ti cards… $7.42 Bitcoin Gold. Am I wrong?
    Is that possibly based without overclocking.
  4. Also where is the best place to check for pools?
  5. I would be setting up triggers, automation and notifications for the farm. Setting up a couple of admins so we can get alerted and react to issues.

Please help me on this journey. I will try and contribute back to this community in anyway I can.

2 Likes
  1. Don’t ever use Windows for anything, use a distro of Linux. Ubuntu is a good transition, desktop greatly resembles Windows. For your rigs if you’re GPU mining, HiveOS is a great way to go.
  2. Whattomine is the best calculator
  3. No, you’re not wrong. Since the ethpocalypse GPU mining is pretty much dead unless you’re getting your power for free.
  4. Depends of what you’re mining. F2 pool is a decent place to start for everything.
  5. HiveOS has the ability to set up the triggers you’re referring to.

Good luck on your start and welcome to the community!

2 Likes