Budget cards? nvidia/amd

Uhh well i guess my username says it all XD. im looking for some cheap gpus as im pretty new to mining

Currently i have ONE rx 470 lol guess you gotta start somewhere. looking for some suggestions!

You looking at new only or used market?

1 Like

Just used

How many cards you hope to get and what price range per card you like?

I would say go with 6GB or better cards running at minimum GDDR5 w/ a memory bus width of 128bit or better as some general rules to weed out things that aren’t worth looking at. From that list look up models you like and see their power at stock and with optimizations, for planning power needs per your other thread, and see if they can profitably mine anything besides ETH. I wouldn’t rule out ETH only but keep in mind you might be left with unprofitable cards in an indeterminate time frame.

1 Like

I see, maybe i should go with something like some rx 480 8gb…? decent all around gpu with a pretty low power draw. im hoping to have 4 more cards some time in the future (probably awhile) currently have a little rx 470 4gb mining rvn lol

Have you tweaked your memory speed and power to maximize eff? Is that card profitable on that coin? I haven’t looked at anything older than RX500 series

1 Like

Im pretty sure its somewhat profitable dosent use alot of power and i get 12.5mhs. i make around 18 rvn a day ive been stacking and have around 800 :smiley:

Would love some oc advice. im running 2000 mem which is a little more than the popular presets maybe i should lower it

Have you lowered your power too? I am no expert on it and most people I think use MSI Afterburner if they are in Windows not sure about in Linux tools as I think most Linux systems people use are Mining specific and have built in tools.