Future Profitability of Bitcoin Mining with ASICs?

Hey all,

I’m new to mining and looking to pick up a few (3 or 4) S19 Pros or 2 S19 XP Hybrids to mine BTC with. My main concern is the ever-increasing mining difficulty on the network.

I’m liberally estimating 20 - 24 months to recoup expenses (am I crazy?), and my primary concern is the long-term viability of these ASICs as the mining difficulty continues to make new highs.

Does anyone have any thoughts on the matter or insights into the long-term viability of these ASIC miners?

2 Likes

I am in the EXACT same situation. That’s the one thing I don’t have a real good idea on quantifying. How much more capacity is going to flood the market and how large an impact will it have. I am betting on BTC long term price action mitigating it somewhat or maybe even completely but there’s no way of knowing that.
After overcoming the hurdle of “am I comfortable buying ASICs without getting scammed” and do I want to try and mine at home or colocate with a host and getting through every other question, what you bring up is the only thing still giving me any queasiness.

It depends on how your coming at it my opinion if your looking at mining long term you should be atleast upgrading your asic every two year or earlier you want to stay competitive with the rest so looking at roi time can be different when you upgrading regularly because you’ll be selling your asic (just say s19 cost 8k now u mine for a year get close to roi u now sell that asic for 5 k you now have roi and made profit and now u buy the next level asic rinse and repeat) if u hope to buy and just mine till they become not profitable you will be over taken by new asic and difficultly in mining you’ll need to keep upgrading as u go

I was thinking more of buying more/newer ASICs from profits and selling the older ones further along around 3 years. That raises another question of when does the residual value really start collapsing.