How they can hack me. Let me count the ways

Thought this would be a helpful thread for us newbies. It seems hacking horror stories are all too common nowadays, such a shame. My question is how does it happen? Can you guys list the most common and stupid ways people lose their portfolios? I dont do much on my laptop but vosk, coinbase, youtube, and memes on facebook. I keep my browsing to a minimum. Im not experienced enough for a cold wallet yet so I wanna be safe. Cheers.

Now would be a good time for you to get educated on using a cold wallet. I recommend Ledger products.

3 Likes

I second that

1 Like

On my to do list…was gonna save for a miner but I suppose cold storage is more important huh

Cold storage only costs $50-$150. I would get that taken care of first

The simple truth is if you can imagine a scam/hack, a starving hacker somewhere is actively doing it.

While thinking of ways scams occur… I’d be typing for days. All of the classic concepts apply but they are amplified with crypto. You know about email scams, generally. Well, just assume every single place you have signed up for crypto has been hacked for every email in its data base. Emails are often a users log in name. So every time you sign up and give email, expect that email to be entered into every exchange in the world, when the exchange replies “invalid password” they just figured out your log in name.