I don't understand why my rig stops mining ETH randomly

Hi! I’ve recently entered the world of mining by entering a the mining pool of ETH of 2miners. I’m doing it with a single GPU (a 3070) and since in my country electricity is crazy cheap I still get a good profit even if I’m mining the equivalent of 2 or 3 daily bucks.

The problem is that there are some cases in which the balance of 2miners shows that I haven’t mined anything for the past one or two hours. After I reset the mining software (t-rex) then it shows ETH being mined back again.

Why is this? I understand mining has a lot to do with chance, but not getting anything for two hours sometimes doesn’t make sense to me.

Maybe this is an incorrect forum to post this, but I’m new to all of this.

Thank you in advance

You need to control the GPU with software like MSI afterburner or EVGA’s X1.
There are two clocks (core clock, memory clock) and the power level you will want to maintain.

You can set fan speed in manual or auto mode to cool your GPU. If you use auto, you want to adjust the fan curve to keep the fan speed up in your operating temperature range.

The afterburner software displays two digital frequency meters on the upper left side. You want to reduce the power level (unchained from temp level) while mining without dropping the core clock frequency below 1500 or so. It will drop like a rock after that so just the amount that keeps it at 1500 or above is the right spot. A 3070 may have a higher frequency than 1500, just don’t let it drop to say 300 all of a sudden.

You can safely raise the core clock setting to 100, and increase to 125 if possible. Don’t go too much more. It will help keep the freqency up while you lower the power level.

Set the temp level at least 10C higher than the current temp, and use fan speed to keep the card under 60C. Two fan models tend to run around 50+C and 3 fan models can run in the 40+C range.