If ETH mining is on the way out... what other coins besides BTC are worth mining with a GPU rig?

So I’m totally new to GPU mining. I invested a small but tidy sum of $$$ into a new GPU Rig… and then I saw Vosk’s video on ETH abandoning GPU miners in July… Ugggh!!!

So what does the community advise is a good alternative coin to min with GPU besides bitcoin… (I just don’t have $$$ for a top notch ASIC right now)?

ravencoin is one alternative

It may change from day to day based on coins and prices but you can always check whattimine.com. Right now it looks like VertCOIN (VTC) would be the way to go and that Ravencoin(RVN) has dropped.

@PlanetKing as @rrsdove said above, put your rig details in to What to Mine and it will give you an idea of what’s the most profitable at any particular time. While Ethereum has been far and away the most profitable GPU mineable coin for over a year now, as you mention it will change.

My advice though is read up a bit more on the Eth2 plan so that you don’t lose out on mining it until the very end. There are lots of resources but this one talks about the recent Berlin Hard Fork and the upcoming London Hard Fork https://academy.ivanontech.com/blog/the-ultimate-guide-to-the-ethereum-berlin-hard-fork-and-london-hard-fork

The current plan is to implement the Ethereum London Hard Fork in July (not stop the POW process) so make sure you understand the difference. From what I can gather, this will make Eth less profitable than it currently is (with most estimates at about 30% less profitable) but it will still be able to be mined for many months yet (or maybe years).

The plan is to transfer from POW to POS early next year, but you only have to look at the history of the Eth development to notice that they have never yet met an estimated implementation timeline.