Mining Newbie... looking for direction

Hey All,

I’m a mining newbie/rookie just purchase the hardware to mine via gpu and now need some further direction- software, OS, etc.

Any one out there willing to hold my hand and give me some direction or send me to a step-by-step, mining for dummies, link suggesting the most productive and/or user-friendly guide to actually beginning to use the hardware I’ve set-up???

Thanks for the help

1 Like

What hardware did you purchase? That really impacts what you should be mining. Also, what are your general goals? Best profitability or support a specific project?

Thank Jeremy. I’ll check that link out.

Hey InvestYG,

I’m looking to mine then stake BTC, ETH and other top altcoin. I love the idea of building a rig and hopefully making a little passive $$$ on the side. I already hold ETH and XRP and want to get more involved.

Biostar TB250-BTC-BTC
MSI 1660 Super X 2
Intel i3

Well, directly mining BTC isn’t going to happen with graphics cards. You would need ASIC’s to really do that. Granted, you can get paid in BTC for mining. The simplest option would be to use a service like NiceHash, where you rent out your mining power to them and are paid in BTC.

Alternatively, you could directly mine coins, then exchange them for BTC, Eth, or whatever other coin you want to hodl, through exchanges. You would first need to pick what coin you want to mine, then download mining software for that coin to your rig.

Nvidia cards are typically less efficient right now at directly mining Etherium than AMD cards, and have higher profitability on RavenCoin from what I have heard. You can use whattomine’s calculator to get some ideas about what coins would be the most profitable for your set-up.