Mining on Nicehash

Would it be worth it to mine on nicehash? I know I may have asked a similar before but here’s why I am asking now. I have been actively mining eth on ethermine.org US West pool. I checked my miner dashboard and roughly the numbers have been that daily profit is about $7-8 and monthly profit will be around $210-$240. Granted this is before even calculating energy cost into it I assume. When I inputted my 2 FTW 3071MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti’s (Evega) on nicehash, it said daily profit would be about $10.42 after paying electric which is at .11 rate and monthly profit would be around $380 after paying electric. Can someone help me understand nicehash and if those numbers are right or should I stick to my ETH mining? (Using Phoenix miner). Also how to use nicehash since I know it has all those miners on there.

Hey @LtArcticShadow. I’ve been mining to Nicehash for about 8 months now and find that the returns have generally been better than mining directly through a pool. That is sort of supported by the fact that if you input your data to whattomine.com you usually get a higher indicated return on Nicehash than direct pool mining.

There are a couple of things to consider though. On Nicehash you will only get paid in BTC. If you want to hold ETH or some other coin, you will have to pay to exchange it - so that might just eat up any extra profit you get from mining on Nicehash.

There are a number of ways to mine to Nicehash depending on what operating system you prefer. I’m a Windows guy but after a while I got sick of the regular need to reboot each machine, try to stop Windows from updating and restarting etc etc. I was lucky if I could get the machines to run a week without either restarting themselves or crashing and needing me to restart them.

In the end, I decided to run my three rigs on Linux and I chose to do that on HiveOS. I then set up HiveOS to mine to Nicehash and I can now let them run for weeks without needing any input from me.