New miner | Open suggestions

I’m new to mining and kind of learning as I go. I’m going to be setting up my first rig with the following components:

Asus b250 mining expert motherboard
intel i3 9100 cpu
3x GTX 1070 founder’s edition gpus(planning to upgrade to 6x)

I would love any suggestions regarding hardware/software, what coins to mine, or anything I should be aware of while building my first rig.

1 Like

I would suggest getting a good power supply, don’t skimp, don’t undersize. I’ve had great success with EVGA in the Platinum and Titanium, have several 1600,1200, and 1000 watt going with no problems in 3 years. They are also very good with customer service and warranty. I have also tried HP 1200w server PSU’s paired with these but have had issues with the rigs failing to restart properly after a power outage, a rare occurence but there nonetheless. PSU’s run at best efficiency at around 50-70% load I believe, so 3 1070’s runnng around 125 watts each, plus another 200w from system to be safe, i’d start with at least a 1000w gold psu. Or you can go cheap to start and add another PSU and link cable when you add more GPU’s. Enjoy!

1 Like

Thanks! I’m using two 850W platinum certified PSUs from Mistel. Going to be booting my rig up today. I’m building on an Asus b250 mining expert mobo with has ports for up to three PSUs. Do you think I should hook each PSU up to a different mobo port OR use an adapter to connect both PSUs to one?

You should be able to use the ports on the MB to at least get the rig up and running. It’s been a while but I think BitsBeTrippin did some videos on this board and power supply connections. In the end I believe he just used a PSU connector and did not utilize the additional ports on the MB but I could be wrong. I’d give it a go with the MB ports to get up and running, can always switch if issues.

It is important to get the latest bios and windows drivers from Asus.com directly.