New Mining Rig builds - Adding more than 8 GPUS to Asrock H110 Pro BTC+ almost impossible

I am new to mining and started out with a Gaming Computer 4 months ago.

Now I am making two rigs which are made with all brand new equipment.

Mining rig 1 has 5 - RX 5500XT and 1 - Rx 5700XT* (working well on Claymore 15) on the Asrock H110 Pro BTC+ with Windows 10, PSU 1600W with single power chords to everything and UBIT risers.

I cannot seem to get it to run more than 8 GPUS without black screen of death only. I even waited 30 minutes for black screen to change according to one video. I was trying to add 5 more RX 5700’s. I followed all the BIOS setting recommendations and installed AMD drivers and uninstalled them according to forums, etc.

No Luck other than the 6 mentioned above running smoothly. What would be the next troubleshooting step for mining rig 1?

Meanwhile I need to get those RX 5700 running so I dismantled my gaming cpu and put it on an open air mining rack . This is built on an *MSI MPG X570 GAMING EDGE WIFI (Socket AM4) USB-C Gen2 AMD Motherboard with a Ryzen 5 3600 CPU (non integrated graphics ) and Window 10. I adjusted the BIOS to proper settings as far as I know. I tried to install the first RX 5700 and it worked. Next, I tried installing a second GPU but got the black screen. Is there is something different I should do when using AMD Motherboard and CPU. It has 3 - PCIe 1x and 2 - PCIe 16x plus a M.2 .

Thanks for any sound advice!!!

1 Like

I heard that Windows 10 has a max card issue. I also read that you can get better results by having 8 AMD cards and 8 Nvidia cards. Windows still may have a max # that can be worked around using SimpleOS and booting from a thumb drive. I haven’t tried that many cards myself, sorry.

2 Likes

Your problem is Windows give SMOS a Try and it will work perfectly.

2 Likes