Newbie with Solar Power

Hello!

I’m a Bitcoin / crypto newbie with access to solar power. The unit is off-grid and gets fed to a lithium battery, with 12 kw power. Any excess power is not utilized, so was thinking that mining Bitcoin (or possibly alt-coins?) might make sense. What do you think would be a good starting configuration for me?

Also, the property is a few hours away, so I would want to ensure I could monitor it remotely and shut it down if need be (e.g. if there’s any possibility of a fire hazard). I already have temperature sensors, cameras, and remote lights / power strips, so hopefully that will help.

From what I’ve been reading, trying to mine solo is almost impossible so I assume I would need to join a mining pool. I did some research on ViaBTC, but not sure I’m understanding the payout. Seems like it’s 7 cents per terahash / second rate for the entire day?? That doesn’t seem to add up to much, but maybe I’m not reading it correctly.

Thanks for any guidance!!

If you’re only using the excess power, it doesn’t really matter what you earn per TH since, it’s 100% profit. At any rate, it’s difficult to project what you’re gonna earn since it’s a function of the total hashrate, whether bitcoin or alts which is really only going up, meaning profits are only going down on a coin per TH basis.

The other important question is if your solar system is sized appropriately for miners. for example if you only have a 1000W panel, you can only run asics that will draw less than 1000W.

Matching the load to the solar output is also difficult since power output changes based on time of day. but if you have ample overhead, for example 3000W at peak (noon) then running a 1500W miner for 4 or 5 hours you wouldn’t have to worry about any intermittent power issues

2 Likes

I would suggest starting small and doing it asap.