PSU Recommendations For 8x 5700XT Rig

I am fairly new to all of this. I currently have a 6X 1660S rig that is in an enclosed case. And now I am planning towards building my next mining rig with 8 5700XTs. But where I am stuck is the PSU. For the 1660S rig, I got a killer deal on a used EVGA 1200 P2 which easily powered the whole rig and since the cards don’t draw that much, I felt comfortable using splitters to use one power cable to power the riser and the card.

But for the 5700 XT rig, each card uses a 8+6 pin and of course, there is still the riser. So I have pretty much decided to bring in a server PSU since ATX power supplies are fairly expensive right now. But this is where I am lost.

Do you have a favorite place to order a server PSU and cables from? Nerdgearz seems to be perpetually sold out.

In a rig like this would you run a separate cable for each 8pin and 6 pin for the cards separately (meaning 16 cables just to the GPUs) or would you feel comfortable using cables that are 6pin to dual 6+2 pin to power each GPU?

Or maybe I am overthinking this and I and I should just go with 2 ATX PSUs. I don’t know.

Thanks for any input.

To be honest, i have not had much luck in powering my AMD newer cards with a server PSU. I wound up going with a 1200w ATX and a server PSU. The thing about the server PSUs is they run freaking hot.

You only need 1 ATX PSU. Buy the risers that have SATA connectors. most better PSU have at least 4 SATA. Run 3 risers with 1, 3 with another, and 2 off a 3rd. Then use 4th for HDD. I got my 1600w PSU for about $200 and it runs cool and sweet.

BTW, I’m running 3 Radeon VII and 2 580s with that 1600w alone. That’s 8 gpu and 5 riser cables.

1 Like

The larger power supplies have more pcie ports, more sata ports and more peripheral ports than the smaller supplies.

Many Risers can be powered either by 4 Pin Molex, SATA, and 6 pin Pcie. Risers also consume the least power so can be adapted with splitters if necessary.