Should I start mining?

Hello,
Im pretty newish to the crypto world.
Im 17, have some money saved up and looking to invest. One thing thats bothering me, is the inconsistency of mining, all the stages of the crypto market and etc. Im looking to build 4x 1660ti rig to start off.
What would be the biggest risk in Your humble opinion?

1 Like

Here is my 2 cents…

I am very new to mining as well, I put together a 13 gpu rig with Rex 570’s 8gb cards. When I did the calculations the ROI was 10-12 months with no electric cost included. I have 65 panels on my roof so I over produce electric. The goal was to make $8 a day min. Since then Ethereum has doubled almost and my lowest day is $15 a day. Last 30 days is averaging $600+. So now ROI is 6 months or less with the current prices. I do have days that are $30+.

Even if the market takes a crap, you own some awesome video cards that you can sell. Doing 4 cards isn’t a lot, but look at the Rx 570’s or 580’s. They are a lot cheaper than a 1070 and with over locking bios flashing and undervolting run around the same as the 1070’s and cost less to run. I’m running around 89-85 watts a card where 1070’s use way more around 120 for the same hash rate at least with Ethereum.

So go for it what do you have to lose? If it doesn’t work you have a kick ass gaming system.

If you have very cheap electric, or live in a place where you can always use extra heating, it may not be a bad idea. Electric cost is really the biggest factor though.

Inconsistency in Mining. That’s the name of the game. You must be prepared.

Each coin has a wallet and address (for your wallet)
Mining requires the coins Miner software and a Pool to Mine to.

After mining for a while you should have an adequate supply of mining programs like GMiner, CCMiner, CryptoDredge, Claymore, T-Rex miner and so on.

You may mine to many pools such as Ethermine, Leafpool, MintPond, 2Miners, F2pool, and many others.