Starting to mine with ASICs, which to choose?

I’m starting to mine with ASICS as my goal has always been to mine bitcoin. I’ve been Gpu mining up to this point, and I’m fairly new to the ASIC mining scene. I’ve saved about 60k of earnings to buy ASICs. I know bitmain is the standard, and I could get 4 S19J Pro’s 110TH, but would it be better to get 6 Canaan Avalon 1246’s? It looks like profitability is about the same despite the significant hash advantage with Canaan.

Also these will be hosted as I unfortunately do not have the capacity to run ASICs in my house.

If I should go with different models or partners, let me know. I’m happy to learn about all of this.

I have no experience with either, but have been researching and saving my coins to do exactly what you are doing.

I would go with the bitmain units as they are going to have longer and better firmware options as well as better resale than a lesser name brand. Also keep in mind that you may have to pay a Tariff when you have them shipped in, so be prepared for a 25% tax if you are in the USA.

I’d order them direct from Bitmain as they have the spot drop going on still on their website.

Vosk dropped a vid yesterday saying to buy the S19’s if you can, and I’d add hodl some monies to buy the XP edition next year.

That’s my plan! I want to get up and running with these then HODL the earnings to get some XP’s in the summer to grow my mining. I was leaning bitmain since they seem like the best of the best. Just unsure if efficiency is better than raw hash rate. Profitability seems the same, but I can get more BTC in hand through the Avalon method. I guess efficiency is probably best for any down periods.

Efficiency is important because it ends up playing into cost. So unless you have a $5 a day unlimited electric plan (these exist just not near where I live). You care what the efficiency is.

1 Like

While the Avalon 1246 returns more absolute BTC than the 1146 the 1146 actually reurns a higher ROI.