1166 pros have arrived!.. now what?!

Yes! So, they have arrived! I went big with 4 on my first purchase and now I need to get these things going.

Good news is I have an EV outlet in the garage.

Bad news is I need someone to help verify that this is cool to use with my PDU.

I also need a link to which cable I should be for these machines. Vosk you are the man and very detailed about setting gear up properly so I don’t want to fry anything. Love your content!

Community at large - let me know your feedback please so I can get these bad boys up.

I know, I’m an idiot but I’ll keep everyone posted as I progress.

Consulting fees are not discouraged if you are accurate and fast.

Thank you!

-sk

I’m not an electrician. This is why I hired an electrician to give me the 220V outlets that I needed. You should do the same. I spent $2K to get (3) 30Amp 240V outlets in my garage and basement. PDU’s plug right in.

What are you going to do, unplug the ASICs whenever you need to charge the car?

I don’t recommend using an EV charging port to power your miners. The NEC does not distinguish an EV port as a continuous duty device, so unless you know how the electrician wired it I would not risk overloading the outlet. It is common for those circuits to not be considered a continuous duty circuit and cut some corners here. It is a gap in the NEC.

I would add some circuits to the panel since you have the space. It is a good investment. If the circuit is overloaded it can cause the miner power supply to run too hot.

It’s a nema 10-30 plug which is a commonly used 3 pin dryer plug. It has 2 hot wires one on the left and one on the right and a common wire in the center going back to the breaker panel. No ground is on the circuit so you will need to add a ground.

What I have done is taken a dryer cord with the 10-30 plug run it into a junction box then run Romex with a l6-30 plug so the pdu can plug into it.