Help with first rig

Hi guys I’m new to mining and have been watching you tube videos for a while to understand mining. I think I’m ready to build my first gpu rig and wanted to get some advice soI don’t waste money on something stupid. I was planing on buying the following items for my rig:
EVGA gold 1000
32g flash drive
Ubit risers
Veddha 6 gpu frame
Corsair vengeance 8g ddr4 ram
Intel G4560
Gigabyte GA-H110-D3A Mother board
RX 580 GPU 8g

I wasn’t sure really how to size the power supply to the rig and don’t know if it’s a good idea to start with a rx 580. I was hoping to get one or two cards. then over time add more cards to this rig. When I feel more comfortable to build the 2nd rig go to a more expensive card with a better hash rate. So let me know your thoughts on what I was thinking of building and any changes I should make to my first build.

3 Likes

I am fairly new to this aswell the 1000w power supply is good you could possible get 6 cards on that from the research I have done with the 580 cards if you overclock correctly I think you can get 30mhs from 1 card with a power wattage of around 70 - 80w a card. The gigabyte motherboard i have make sure you go in to the bios and turn on mining mode. With the flash drive will you be using that to run the os? I did have a USB but have upgraded to a ssd simple to connect and set up and It freed up a USB spot. USB will work tho. What os are you going to use? I mine with hive os which I reccomend. Enjoy building it :slight_smile: I am fairly new to this so what is mentioned above is currently what I no and have researched. Wil be good to see the build :slight_smile:

1 Like

For the ssd I bought this off of amazon it is cheap and it works yucun ssd 60gb

Yes, I was going to use the flash drive to run the os. I was thinking of running simple miner os. I haven’t heard of hive os but I’ll do some research on it.