Solar Mining Is It Possible?

Anyone here try mining off solar power yet?

I haven’t solar mined but I looked into it when you need 1500-2000w just to run one miner that is at least four large panels. That is probably why no one uses it large scale. But if you are just running one s17 lets say It might make sense.

Hi, I am new in mining. Just tried a little GPU mining and now ordered new K5 :grin:

But I have few years experience on solar panels. First of, you need more equipment than just panels and cables. You need an inverter, mounting brackets etc.

The second thing is that sun doesn’t shine always at least where I live (Finland). I have 3600Wh solar system and right now it starts to produce power about 8.00AM but just a little, after about 11.00AM it’s producing enough to pay my K5 :ant: about 1600wh and about 01.00PM it’s producing somewhere between 2000-3000wh till 5.00PM and if it’s cloudy or rainy much less obviously. Solar production will vary very much monthly. During winter time you are not getting that much, obviously depends so much on where you live.

Thirdly, costs. I have paid my system about $6000. But I assume this varies based on where you live etc. However my recommendation is get the knowledge your self, it’s quite simple thing really! Buy your panels, cables, mounting brackets, inverter yourself. Hire yourself electric guy and help him to install them. You can save 50% this is at least in my country.

But my advice is that do not just look at the theoretical watts on panels and calculate the savings. If you are planning to get enough power for like for example, Antminer K5, you’re solar system needs to be much more than 1600Wh. Perhaps 2000-3000wh. And still you can effectively power your mining only for about 6 hours per day from April to September. Outside of those months it drops significantly. And during November to February the solar production is nearly zero (this is where I live)