What GPU(s) Would You Buy With ~ $600?

Newbie question again.- I’ve got all the parts except GPU’s for my first rig. The frame can hold 6 cards. I have roughly $600 USD left in my budget for now for GPU(s). My head starts to spin a bit watching and learning from YouTube, hash rates, etc.

I think (but feedback welcome) my best move is to spend the $600ish on 1 card, whatever best bang for the buck card that is (definitely happy to take recommendations). With 1 card then in future months I can add to the rig and over time have 6 higher performing cards than 6 mediocre ones. Seem logical?

Assuming 1 card, something like a GTX 1080 TI or a RTX 2070 Super seem roughly in the ball park on price, used. Any recommendation on those or another option, again totally open and 100% rookie.

2 Likes

my pick would be 2 AMD RX 5700 they make about a dollar a day right now using 120-140 watts

2 Likes

Hey, I’m also new to mining! Can I ask you what did you used for your rig or how did you start your rig, id like to start my rig but I don’t know which parts or components should I use when starting.

1 Like

this is a thread a made and it takes you on my journey from complete newb to my second real rig that is very protfitable. there are pro’s and cons to both ways of thinking but the best way to start is with some hardware you already have and can upgrade for cheap just to test out if the noise and heat and extra power requirements might be an issue if you decide to scale up.

2 Likes

I’m partial to nvidia1660 supers…about $220-260 each(I prefer MSI myself). Real close to 1660ti performance but at $50+ cheaper than a ti. They will give a large range of coins and miners to explore . Easy enough to get 30m/sec on daggerhasimoto at 75 watts or 15 on kawpow at 100watts.

3 Likes

MSI is my favorite also!

2 Likes